About being a woman in science and about science communication – my conversation with Jennifer Doudna (O byciu kobietą w nauce i o popularyzacji nauki – rozmowa z Jennifer Doudna)

Jeśli chcesz czytać ten post po polsku, kliknij tutaj

In the Summer of 2020, I had a chance to work on a podcast with Jennifer Doudna – one of the recent Nobel Laureates in Chemistry! If you are interested in how this happened, here is the timeline… And the podcast:

March 2020: The pandemic is getting started, we are all locked up in our homes. I decide to take some time and participate in the Lasker Foundation Essay Contest (check out this years contest >>here<<, they are now accepting essays). In my essay, I wrote about Dr. Jennifer Doudna, who inspired me to be a better science communicator and to never give up, even if being a female scientist is challenging at times. If you are interested, check out my essay >>here<<.

June 2020: I receive an email from the Lasker Foundation, inviting me to call them and tell in my own words, how Jennifer Doudna inspires me. Why not? I call and leave a voicemail. I get nervous because the voicemail stops before I am able to say my name and contact information… Ugh! So I call again, leave another voicemail and assume it probably won’t work anyway, but at least I tried!

July 2020: Turns out that they liked my voicemail after all! I get invited to record a podcast with Flora Lichtman and Jennifer Doudna! How exciting! Flora is the host of “Every Little Thing” podcast and before that, she used to write for “Bill Nye Saves the World” show on Netflix. The Lasker Foundation podcast is going to be a limited series featuring young scientists (like me) in a conversation with experienced scientists who inspire us (like Dr. Doudna). Over the next couple months we have a few online recording sessions – some with just Flora and myself and one with Flora, myself and Dr. Doudna. What fun! *Also, my dog is very well behaved and does not bark throughout the recordings*

October 2020: Jennifer Doudna and Emmanuelle Charpentier receive the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for “the development of a method for genome editing”! Dang, what amazing and exciting news! If you are interested to learn more about the Nobel Prize – winning technology of CRISPR-Cas9, check it out >>here<<.

February 2021: Dallas gets hit by a snowstorm, many homes lose electricity and water. At our home, we don’t have any power on and off for about 3 days and a few pipes freeze (darn it Texas, you are not ready for winter, are you?!) When the electricity (and therefore the Internet, too) comes back and I am able to check my email, it turns out that the Lasker Foundation Podcast is out! Here is its intro:

Without further ado, >>here is the podcast<< (my episode is number 5, but I strongly encourage you to check it all out)!

Let me know what you think in the comments below!

Leave a comment